My GU upgraded to 200 cruiser - removable draw system wanted

Submitted: Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:26
ThreadID: 57439 Views:3866 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Well I finally bit the bullet and am replacing my GU with a 200 series V8 diesel cruiser with KDSS suspension. I ticked the option box for steel winch bar, offroad tow bar, cargo barrier, spotlight wiring loom and headlight covers, but will still have a long way to go to get it set up as well as the GU - but isn't half the fun going thru the buildup:)

I thought long and hard about getting another GU as I don't think the 200 series will ultimately be as capable offroad as the GU was. But looking back at where I have been in the GU, there isn't a place the 200 series couldn't get to (well maybe after a 2" lift). Point being I unfortunately spend 90% of my driving onroad and the comfort factor of the cruiser is streets ahead of the GU with the smoothness and torque of the V8 being something else.

One thing I missed in the way my GU was setup was the inability to use the 3rd row seats. My drawer system was not removable and there were several times I needed more seats (kid carrying duties). In the 200 series I want to have a removable draw system between the 3rd row seats and cargo barrier. Does anyone know of such a beast available off the shelf or will I have to build it myself?

Also, anyone with tips on anything I need to look out for when wiring up a 200 series for rear power would be welcome - I will need to power up the engles and also my camper trailer.

Reply By: dedabato (SA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:56

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:56
Well,well mate.... Congratulation on your new purchase and I know you will not be sorry as my son has one (replaced his 80series) Fantastic vehicle on and off road.... As far as your question, mate I seem to remember something of the sort on: http://www.LCOOL.org/forum/index.php - but not so sure. You can have a looksy on that site and hope you'll find what you looking for

AnswerID: 302987

Follow Up By: dedabato (SA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:57

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:57
I forgot to add

Cheers Capetain
FollowupID: 569128

Follow Up By: dedabato (SA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:59

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 23:59
I forgot to add

Cheers Captain
FollowupID: 569129

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:12

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:12
Hi dedabato,

Thanks for the link, will check it out and see what I can find.

FollowupID: 569230

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 14:49

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 14:49
G'day Captain and congrats on your decison to "upgrade" (?? haha) to a Toyota......

I'm not sure I quite understand your question regarding the storage system...... You're not suggesting that you are after a system that sits behind the cargo barrier (which is behind the 2nd row of seats) and the 3rd row of seats, surely?

My suggestion would be to forget the cargo barrier altogether, but build a storage unit which has, at the front, a "solid wall" structure which would negate the need for a c/barrier. The unit should be a slide-in type which you could bolt to the floor using the existing captive nuts.....so that you either have the 3rd row of seats in, or you take them out and slid-in the storage system.

I'm sure you know that you can't have a cargo barrier in place as well as the 3rd row of seats..... hahaha

Have fun with the fit-out; remember that a few quiet drinks whilst scratching your head, is the best way to nut these things out...hahaha

AnswerID: 303055

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 14:53

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 14:53
Sorry, should have added that I have a couple of mates with Patrols that use this system and it works well..... the "solid wall" I mentioned is made of this perspex and it goes up as high as the rear door way allows.

The bloke I know best who has one of these, also has a trolley built to the correct height of the back of his Patrol, so he can unbolt the drawer system and fridge etc, pull it out and straight onto the trolley and then wheel the trolley to a different part of the gararge for storage; one man job.
FollowupID: 569199

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:07

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:07
Hi Roachie,

I must admit I was thinking of leaving the rear seats in (folded) behind the cargo barrier, the genuine Toyota one allows it. And then having the draw system behind the cargo barrier and between the folded 3rd row seats. The 200 series seats are relatively narrow when folded - there is nearly as much room between them as in my Patrol with the 3rd row completely out (the 200 is a lard arse).

Its not that often I need 3 rows of seats (maybe 2-3 times a year) and if I had to remove the draw system then doing the cargo barrier wouldn't be much more effort.

Your idea makes sense, my only concern is that the perspex may not be as capable a restraint as a cargo barrier, but then again I don't carry heavy items in the rear. And I had thought of a trolley so hearing that someone has successfully done it means its probably the way I will go.

Will follow your advise and enjoy one or three refreshments trying to nut this all out ;)

FollowupID: 569227

Follow Up By: autosparky - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:52

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:52
if you fit a cargo barrier you cant have the third row of seats fitted (safety issue)
FollowupID: 569293

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:42

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:42
Hi autosparky,

Actually, not true! Check out the Toyota brochure link and it shows the 3rd row fitted and the cargo barrier in place - all designed to fit around the curtain airbags.

FollowupID: 569320

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 14:45

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 14:45
Depends if you want your kids to go through life with an aquired brain injury and a grill pattern permenantly stamped on their forehad??

If you do - leave the barrier in front of the third row seats.

If you like your kids the way they are take it out.

(Ambo)
FollowupID: 569367

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 15:04

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 15:04
Hi Dave,

I think you misunderstand me, I would NEVER put anyone behind the cargo barrier (in seats or not). The idea was to have the cargo barrier in place and a draw system behind the barrier and between the folded 3rd row seats (seats not in use). When I wanted to use the 3rd row I would remove the draw system AND the cargo barrier.

I believe in the value of cargo barriers hence why I want to install one, like I have in my previous 4WD's. But I also understand their limitations ad wouldn't put a passenger behind one - in a seat belt or not.

Can certainly appreciate you have seen first hand the injuries they may cause, I can only imagine that horror.

FollowupID: 569369

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 00:23

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 00:23
No worries. That makes more sense.

I've definately seen a few that the cargo barrier saved, but you are right about the results when people are transported in the boot...

FollowupID: 569478

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 15:02

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 15:02
How about something like This from OL??
They look like they can be removed easily.

AnswerID: 303059

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:10

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:10
Hi Kev,

Thanks for the link, its pretty much what I was after with one exception. I have a twozone on top of my engels so need an open deck above the fridge area. But otherwise its pretty much what I had in mind.

I was also thinking of building in a Waeco Draw fridge as the bottom draw and using it as a freezer, but then found out its a fridge only and cannot freeze :(

Will carry on with my planning, its half the fun!

FollowupID: 569229

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:28

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:28
Thats a pretty interesting set up Kev thanks for the link.

Quite a few different models Captain that may suit your fridge set up.

FollowupID: 569289

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:07

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:07
I notice with interest that the roof capacity for the 200 is 100kg.

If you put an ARB roof rack on it and a steel wheel and tyre it would be overloaded 61kg rack and 42kg wheel.
Marvelous Eh.
AnswerID: 303136

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:46

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:46
Hi Graham,

Not sure where you are getting your info from, the official Toyota brochure has a maximum roof load of 200kg, plenty of capacity for the ARB rack and three tyres and a little to spare!

FollowupID: 569321

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:59

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:59
Was in a review I read so maybe was a typo and I should have checked with the Toyota site I guess
FollowupID: 569327

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:51

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 09:51
Colonel,

We do them. Have done both the Double Stacker and the flat unit. They take 10 minutes to install or remove.

$850/$1250 plus freight to Perth.

Any queries give me call on 03 9706 6527 or 0411 874406.

AnswerID: 303194

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 16:09

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 16:09
Hi Jim,

Will certainly be talking to you. My GU unit is pretty much what I want with the exception of it being removable and between the upright 3rd row seats.
What you cannot see in the pic is the 60L water tank behind the draw/fridge slide with the air compressor at one end. It does make the draw length shorter, but just means I have less room. Will also have to think of how to have the water line, air connector and power outlets mounted.

Anyway, would be keen to see some pics of your rail systems, couldn't get some of the pics on your website to work. Feel free to email me (address in my profile) and we can continue this offline.

FollowupID: 569377

Reply By: kym111 - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 23:53

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 23:53
Hi Captain
In the Nov 07 issue of Caravan & Motor home, they did a feature on the set up you're talking about. Very impressive, I might add.

They were reviewing the Outback Roller Drawers (www.4wdinteriors.com), and I liked the idea of the slide out tray for the Engel/Waeco. They have a cargo barrier, and a shelf that attaches to the barrier to make use of that bit of space above the fridge etc.

I believe they can be custom made to your requirements and uses the existing holes and brackets in your vehicle to secure it. The article also states you can easily install the system into your vehicle yourself.

Kym111
AnswerID: 303372